design element

Iowa Mediators Association Title
Menu pointMenu pointMenu pointMenu pointMenu pointMenu point
design element

Member log in

Academy Members Only

Academy Promotion

National Website
ADRWeb Websites
Iowa Academy of Mediators & Arbitrators - Member Roster
Membership in the Academy is generally by invitation only. Membership is limited to established mediators and arbitrators, each of whom is confirmed to have met our nomination and experience requirements and to have established a solid reputation in their respective fields.

Membership Criteria:
  • All Academy Members are attorneys and Members in good standing of the State Bar of Iowa
  • 2 votes are required from existing Academy members (a nomination & second) to move forward with any application for membership. Our Advisory Committee may also be consulted on the inclusion of any applicant.
  • All Members are professional neutrals, in mediation or arbitration practice for a minimum of 5 years, and declare that a minimum of 30% of their professional efforts are dedicated to serving as a neutral in ADR practice.
  • Neutrals must have privately mediated at least 200 civil disputes or arbitrated 20 cases to final award, excluding pro bono and family disputes and receive remuneration for mediation/arbitration practice at least 60 days annually.
  • For full details on qualifying criteria, please see our national website.

Through this strict qualification process, we are pleased to recognize the following ADR professionals in the Academy member roster:

Academy Members
design element John A. Nahra Bettendorf Mediation/Arbitration Services
design element Justice David L. Baker (Ret.) Cedar Rapids IOWA ADR
design element Steven M. Augspurger Des Moines Bradshaw Fowler PC
design element Jeffrey A. Boehlert Des Moines Patterson Law Firm, L.L.P.
design element Thomas A. Finley Des Moines Finley, Alt, Smith PC
design element Joe Happe Des Moines Davis Brown Law Firm
design element E.J. Kelly Des Moines Hopkins & Huebner, P.C.
design element Michael J. Pitton Iowa City Attorney & Adjunct Professor
design element Peter J. Gartelos La Porte City Gartelos Law Firm
design element Stephen J. Powell Waterloo Swisher & Cohrt, PC
design element Just. Louis A. Lavorato (Ret.) West Des Moines Louis A. Lavorato



View Complete Iowa Roster  ::  Legal Notice  ::  IAAMA is the Iowa Chapter of the National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals (

design element